Queen Of Sports 101: NASCAR Sprint Cup Championship

NASCAR has been in the news a lot this weekend, following the close of the 2011 NASCAR Sprint Cup series.

Tony Stewart won the 2011 Sprint Cup Championship yesterday, beating out Carl Edwards. It was Stewarts’ third championship win.

Stewart and Edwards ended the season in a first-ever points tie, but Stewart won the tie-breaker because of his five season wins over Edwards’ one.

You can watch some highlights from the race here:

[There is a video that cannot be displayed in this feed. Visit the blog entry to see the video.]

We’ve never explained NASCAR in depth here at Queen of Sports, so we thought we’d break down one of the biggest series’ of the year: the Sprint Cup.

The Sprint Cup Series is the highest level of competition in NASCAR with the biggest pay-off. The 2011 Sprint Cup series consisted of 36 races over 10 months. Jimmie Johnson was the winner of the Cup over the last five years.

The champion is determined by a point system. Points are given based on finishing placement and laps led. After the first 26 races of the season, the top 10 racers and the two racers with the most race wins ranked 11th to 20th are seeded based on their total number of race wins. Those 12 racers go on to compete in the Chase for the Championship, the last 10 races of the season.

The current playoff system was implemented to make the chase for more points more competitive later in the season, when NASCAR must compete with NFL ratings.

A fun fact about the Sprint Cup trophy: the silver trophy is designed by Tiffany & Co.

Queen of Sports

Catherine Sebring is the former publicist for Los Angeles Lakers superstar guard, Kobe Bryant. She and her resident writer Leah Hollar are the Queen of Sports. Check them out at http://queenofsports.com

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

write my research paper
custom paper
papers for sale
do my paper
essay help